activating windows 7 OEM way

I will start with basics of how a copy of windows gets automatically activated when installed on OEM (original equipment manufacturer) based PCs, traditionally when a copy of windows is installed you have insert your license key and activate by verifying it with Microsoft via internet or by getting a confirmation id over telephone. But with OEMs like Dell, Sony, Lenovo etc. a need was felt to get windows activated right upon installation without going through all the annoyance. With Windows XP a method called System-Locked Pre-installation (SLP) was devised. This method uses an area of BIOS to store some identification data, in SLP 1.0 the version included with XP, this was simply the name of the OEM. There are files on hard disk when windows is installed which were being matched with the value from BIOS for verification, if matched your copy gets activated. SLP 1.0 was cracked quite easily which demanded for a more complex system to be developed resulting in SLP 2.0 included with Windows Vista and SLP 2.1 shipped with Windows 7. Both methods works similarly with only a change in marker in Windows 7 based PCs. A SLP 2.1 involves checking the presence of a matching OEM-supplied key, an OEM-specific certificate and the most challenging part of the puzzle an OEM-specific ACPI_SLIC table (SLIC 2.1 table) before it can activate.

Now moving to next step, OEM-key and OEM-specific certificates were being cracked very early when a copy was leaked illegally from Lenovo, but the real hack was to bypass the SLIC table. Methods were developed commonly known as Loaders (also called the softmod) which involves loading the SLIC table in memory before the main OS loads thereby fooling the system with a fake SLIC table. These methods involves Linux based loaders and sometimes may install trozens or other malware on your PC. Other method called the hardmod also exist which modifies the BIOS and may lead to complete system damage.

We will now learn how to get your copy of windows 7 genuine without compromising the security and system itself. The first step is to check if your BIOS has a SLIC 2.1 table or not, and can be easily done using the SLIC_ToolKit can be downloaded from here. Run it and you will see the window indicating the presence of SLIC table 2.1 marked “Dump OK !   ( DELLWN09_V2.1 )”.

detecting SLIC 2.1 in BIOS

In case you don’t have version 2.1 you first need to get your BIOS updated. Now moving on to next step get the OEM certificate taking help of your friend Google. Select the one based on your OEM and move it to C:, next run the following commands after opening cmd as administrator

slmgr.vbs -ilc C:\DELL.xrm-ms

in case your OEM is DELL, next first get OEM keys also available on internet and select the one based on OS version and run the command

slmgr.vbs -ipk xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxx-xxxxx

now check your activation status by entering

slmgr.vbs -dli

hope you enjoyed the blog… !!!

110 comments

  1. Neil Chester · November 16, 2015

    Hi, I wonder if you could help me please? I have a laptop I bought off ebay that had been upgraded from vista business to windows 7 professional, I used magic jellybean to recover the product key and I tried wiping and re-installing windows 7 professional with a USB stick I put an iso on. When I input the product key it said that it was an OEM key and would not activate. Can you tell me if I can still do this without an operating system on the laptop or is there another way around it? many thanks

  2. K4M4L · December 27, 2015

    Is this works UEFI based motherboards?

  3. Dave H · January 17, 2016

    When I try to download from your Google Drive link, Google is telling me the SLIC file has a virus and can only be downloaded by the owner.

  4. Jostarr · January 25, 2016

    I have a Dell Optipex 755 with Bios A11, Vista Business, and Slic v2.0. I can not find a working Bios Upgrade with
    SLIC 2.1. Can you provide a link?

  5. D · January 27, 2016

    I am left unclear if there any record in the bios of the flavor of windows that is supposed to be installed? Can a thinkpad with vista be upgraded by this method to win7, for example?

    Also, I have Win 7 install media given gratis to university students. Will that media work to activate an install, or do I specifically need some kind of OEM disk?

    Alternatively, I have a number of old machines here, and I want to move hard drives and windows installs between them. Given a working system, can I just clone the disk (to a larger one, for example), install that to another machine, and then run this process?

    Thanks for your work!

    Also, and possibly alternatively, I do have Win 7 install media given gratis to university students. Will that media work to activate an install, or do I specifically need some kind of OEM disk?

  6. D · January 27, 2016

    I am left unclear if there any record in the bios of the flavor of windows that is supposed to be installed? Can a thinkpad with vista be upgraded by this method to win7, for example?

    Also, I have Win 7 install media given gratis to university students. Will that media work to activate an install, or do I specifically need some kind of OEM disk?

    Alternatively, I have a number of old machines here, and I want to move hard drives and windows installs between them. Given a working system, can I just clone the disk (to a larger one, for example), install that to another machine, and then run this process?

    Thanks for your work!

  7. D · January 28, 2016

    One more question, if you don’t mind. I’ve got a bunch of Thinkpad T6x’s all but one with the most updated bios. Oddly, those with the later bios are still slp 2.0 (LENOVOTP-7I), but the one that hasn’t been updated is slp 2.1 (LENOVOTC-90). Not sure how that happened, but could I just copy the 2.1 version of the slic table over the 2.0 version?

  8. Animesh Kishore (@mask_kishore) · February 19, 2016

    Hi. Great guide first of all. Very thorough and informative.

    Here’s my situation. I had a Dell OEM Win 7 Home license. Now I want to use the same license on a new HP laptop. So, in the step where you have to install the SLP key for the manufacturer, should I load Dell or HP?

    Thanks in advance…

  9. Russ · February 25, 2016

    Many thanks for these instructions, you saved the day. God bless you.

  10. Pingback: How To Bypass Activating Windows 7 | Lalataso-1
  11. Alexandru D · April 9, 2016

    You’re a rockstar, saved me from running a repair with a different iso and a long a$$ drive.

  12. Pingback: activating windows 7 OEM way – Bienvenue sur la KBelliot ;)
  13. Damon Breeden · April 22, 2016

    Nice, is there any way to do this with Windows 8/10?

  14. silversword411 · April 28, 2016

    Outstanding!!!!!! I’m quite certain I’ve searched at least 150+ sites…and never found this info, just turned licensing hell into easy street. Thank you!!!!!!!!!

  15. k13ron · May 18, 2016

    You my friend, are a legend! Works 100%

  16. Arlen Pujia · June 16, 2016

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  17. t1m_h · July 15, 2016

    Excellent work, saved me from having to re-install my accidentally broken Vista…

  18. Margert Tafuri · August 10

    I have to express my gratitude for your generosity in support of people that should have help with this important issue. Your real commitment to getting the message around became rather advantageous and has consistently empowered regular people much like me to achieve their dreams. The informative tutorial means so much a person like me and even more to my office colleagues. Best wishes; from all of us.

  19. Izetta Sheer · August 10

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make certain to do not put out of your mind this web site and give it a glance regularly.

  20. showing · August 10

    If some one wishes to be updated with most recent technologies then he must be go to see this ite and be
    up to date all the time.

  21. Jimmy Bennett · August 10

    Almost all of whatever you point out happens to be astonishingly accurate and that makes me ponder the reason why I had not looked at this with this light before. Your article really did turn the light on for me as far as this particular issue goes. However there is just one factor I am not really too comfy with so whilst I try to reconcile that with the actual central idea of your position, let me see exactly what all the rest of the readers have to say.Very well done.

  22. Carita Hickox · August 18

    I think the admin of this web site is really workinghard for his web page, foor the reason that here every material is quality based material.

  23. Edmond Cambridge · August 18

    Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Thank you!|

  24. Smithb664 · August 19

    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and superb design and style. caebkceegdgdadae

  25. Shawn Dantoni · August 19

    Great post. I am facing a couple of these problems.

  26. Windows 7 Pro Key · August 20

    I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I have got you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

  27. Addie Taboada · August 20

    This piece of writing offers clear idea in favor of the new people of blogging, that truly how to do running a blog.|

  28. Courtney Duriga · August 20

    発送希望の方はお振込後に着払い料金を必ず払っていただける方でお願いします。 プリントティーシャツ

  29. Issac Medler · August 20

    you’re truly a excellent webmaster. The site loading speed is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic job in this subject!

  30. Silas Tomsic · August 20

    Thanks for finally writing about > blog_title < Loved it!|

  31. Fnrpsmtaxf Cgtzafdwu · September 5

    Guys who need window 7 key can go link http://cheapwin7activationkey.tumblr.com to got. My key got here and after i used is great works. Hope it help you.

  32. jasper · September 15

    File : Windows Loader.exe
    CRC-32 : b4417bb9
    MD4 : 10cc300f6c7b1b0fe8fcf5d9cfd07e15
    MD5 : 323c0fd51071400b51eedb1be90a8188
    SHA-1 : 0efc35935957c25193bbe9a83ab6caa25a487ada

    No Pay,No Virus,No hassles and Not detected by any windows update
    Make sure hashes check out, google scratches microsofts back by returning virus infected fakes as top results

    • Dog · April 17

      Hashes are verifiable against WHAT AUTHORITY? That’s right – NONE. I’d rather trust Microsoft, and that’s saying something. If one can do the OEM Activation via SLIC table in the BIOS, then one has already paid for the OS, so no need to trust dodgy loaders.

  33. in here · September 18

    Sorry for the substantial review, nonetheless I am particularly loving the new Zune, and assume this, as very well as the high quality evaluations some other us residents consist of written, will assist you choose if it really is the directly alternative for by yourself.

  34. website · September 21

    This is starting to be a bit more subjective, nonetheless I much want the Zune Sector. The interface is vibrant, is made up of far more flair, and some amazing capabilities which includes ‘Mixview’ that enable on your own all of a sudden watch very similar albums, new music, or other people related toward what you are listening toward. Clicking on one of those will center on that product, and a different mounted of “neighbors” will occur into look at, allowing yourself towards navigate around studying by identical artists, audio, or consumers. Chatting of end users, the Zune “Social” is on top of that great exciting, enabling yourself track down some others with shared preferences and getting pals with them. Yourself then can listen in the direction of a playlist constructed based upon an amalgamation of what all your good friends are listening to, which is far too thrilling. People anxious with privateness will be relieved to comprehend your self can avoid the general public from watching your person listening habits if yourself so get.

    • Dog · April 17

      Paid spam from someone who can’t speak or write English. If M$ are paying people to lie about Zune, then what does that make the truth about it. Sansa Clip players are the best bang for buck, and no-one paid me to say that (mine is a bit buggy in fact, but still better sound quality than anything else and smaller than anything else, for having >30GB for around £40

      • Timothy Levine · April 26

        Sansa Clip players only run well if you install Rockbox on them 😉

  35. your blog · September 23

    Amongst me and my spouse we’ve owned further MP3 gamers over the years than I can count, which includes Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, and many others. Still, the remaining couple yrs I’ve settled down in the direction of one line of players. Why? Mainly because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun in direction of hire the underappreciated (and extensively mocked) Zunes are.

    • Dog · April 17

      “fun in direction of hire” – Try English. Zunes were unpopular because MS decided to bolt on some nasty DRM, as far as I understand it. That and not much space… 160GB on an ipod is still not enough for me to have the freedom of my whole mp3 collection to choose exactly what I want to hear (or what I want others to be introduced to).

  36. Fred C · December 11

    I don’t understand why we are running that program to look at the SLIC information unless you are saying that the 2.1 is necessary for this to work. And I don’t know what you mean by getting the OEM certificate and moving it to the C drive. How/where do I do that? I understand the rest of it, but it still says not genuine probably because I do not have the certificate part. Thanks.

    • Fred C · December 11

      And when I run the first command I get a Windows Script Host box stating: On a computer running Microsoft Windows non-core edition, run ‘slui.exe0x2a0xBBA’ to display the error text. Error 0xBBA. Attempting to run that command gives me an error that it does not recognize that command.

  37. ODB · December 18

    To Neil Chester. Just do a google search for Windows 7 Loader 2.6.2 By Daz, or older version. You should see several places to get it, but you need to only use one that has no malware, malware is everything, Trojan, Virus ECT. Make sure when you extract the RAR, you have either, Avira, Fsecure, Bit defender, or Kaspersky as an anti-virus. Windows- DAZ loader will not flag as a virus, but people take his work and infect it. Once you have a clean one, you can use it on any version of windows Vista or 7. The reason I say this is it sounds like they used a bad key or used this program, and you can’t just use a generic OEM key without the table being injected. You can try one other thing, do a clean install of the original OS, and try key, if it doesn’t work try my suggestion with the loader to TEST the laptop and then buy a key. Even though Microsoft will NEVER know it’s injected.

  38. Phillip Coppens · January 28

    Your data is very helpful.|

Leave a Reply

